May. 16th, 2004

petronia: (Default)
Hey, the Pony Girl's found Prince of Tennis! (No, this isn't a bad thing. XD Just that she's one of those fandom people who are, ah, easily remembered - if we were all music scenesters she'd have a hit song written about her, like Franz Ferdinand's Michael or Jacqueline.)

Watched Peace Maker Kurogane until bad files foiled me again - that is, up to 19. Wah, angsty voice-acting. ^^; I read this part in Chinese, so Susumu and Akesato's dialects never registered very well - you know how you hear dialogue in your head when you read? I'm not a good enough Japanese speaker that I can mentally reproduce the "sound" of Kansai tone variants. (And I have to ask. Does anyone understand what was going on with those filler eps? ^^; I mean, what was it about? Who were those people? Or is there no significance and the animators just pulled a scrap of plot out of a bottom drawer?

It is so sad (in a not-really-sad sort of way) that the chronology doesn't allow for Itou Kashitarou to be there, even though it apparently allows for Sakamoto Ryouma and wacky onmyouji spells. I mean, they're obviously not afraid of cranking up the ghei factor needlessly or anything...)

Other series: Monster should download be subbed come out on TV faster. ...Yeah. And I think I'm getting weirdly addicted to Kyou Kara Maou. It gives me the feeling that I'm watching Fushigi Yuugi all over again (the Fluxblog dude's words on Bis come to mind: "I realise this may be a nightmare for some of you but that's because you're being very borecore"). I need to get mah homies together and screen this show. It's such an indictment against the idea of fangirls ever having sons... Though I find I have a real positive liking for Yuuri, because he's so normal. I mean, think about it: the stereotypical shoujo heroine is supposed to be LCD and normal, but she's not. Normal people aren't that flamboyantly genki/stupid/clumsy/greedy/naive/wibbly in love, even when they're 15. Stereotypical shounen heroes - even the dorky loser types - are exaggerated as well, albeit along different lines. But Yuuri is almost paradoxically believable. He has a sense of humour, and he's not as completely non-judgmental and reactive as main characters tend to be in these FY-esque storylines - every once in a while he throws up his hands and says something to the effect of, "well, damned if I know WTF's going on here," or "wow, this is incredibly stupid!", just like a normal person would. And riding horses hurts his ass.

...This is because it's genre parody, of course. ^^;
petronia: (sleepy)
OMG it's nearly 4AM and I have to be up to go apple-blossom viewing tomorrow. Um. Okay, I've got to be the last TeniPuri fangirl on the face of the earth to realise this (*translate* *translate* "...Hey, there's an email and addy at the back of the book!"), but Hojo Akira does have a website? Even if there's nothing much there but notices of comiket attendance. Darn, if I'd known earlier I'd've swung past to see what she thought of the Fuji vs. Kirihara match. Last updated four days ago, so at least 218 didn't keel her dedd.

*pokes*

*pokes*

...SanaYuki! XD Actually, "Sanada G. x Yukimura S. and Kirihara A." Okay, cough it up, who's got this book? What's innit?

Well, fine, then. Here's the end of Syn, which is what I'm online to post in the first place. It's incredibly sappy, but at least Fuji messes with Tezuka's head. And - well, never mind. But I've got to go back to translating GetBackers for a dose of shounen violence after this.

December 2020

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829 3031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 06:33 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios