* If you of the flist have a book in print and I haven't bought it... it's now because I forgot rather than because I'm broke. XD; Also, Jhegaala and Victory of Eagles. I'll get the Paarfi ones from the bookstore, they were there last I checked.
* The most recent volume of Steel Ball Run I own is #12 and #20 just came out. Also WTF is this and why is it on Gallimard, sad'lgj;gfdkgh Araki stans have a tough life of it. I finally got around to watching Gaga/Beyoncé's "Telephone" video while picturing Hirohiko crying manly sensitive tears through its 9 1/2 minutes. I could break it down painstakingly but if you care it'd be obvious, and if it's not obvious you won't care. So. XD;;
* The damage:
Steel Ball Run 13-19 (20 seems to have sold out of stock = =)
Gente 1
Finder no Shinjitsu (omedetou!! I will not have to buy this ever again XDD)
Romance of an Ancient Dreaming City (Hoshino Lily aesthetic het from Fx, which is a reliable imprint for ruining my life, so)
This, which
motorbike if it doesn't work out I'm blaming you
Stuff to buy next round so as not to get dinged badly for customs duties (yeah right like I can avoid it):
SBR 20-21 which'll be out too no doubt
Aoi Hana 3-5 (...there're like ten schoolgirl yuri series in the You Might Also Enjoys now)
Gente 2-3 plus that basso book that came out on EDGE urghhh Natsume is overly prolific, maybe I should just start watching the animu instead
Petshop of Horrors whatever up to 7 (if I still feel like it which I may not)
Crimson Spell 3 (...)
Ze? Sheesh I can't even remember what I used to read
Stuff to read/get from the bookstore in English/French or heck, why not, in scanlation:
Bleach I don't even remember (I have actually been reading this regularly surprise!!, in French tankoubon i.e. about 8 volumes behind)
Nana 19+
Where is TRC even up to now
I think I will sell off some of my older books, no way is all this coming with me when I move. = =+
* The most recent volume of Steel Ball Run I own is #12 and #20 just came out. Also WTF is this and why is it on Gallimard, sad'lgj;gfdkgh Araki stans have a tough life of it. I finally got around to watching Gaga/Beyoncé's "Telephone" video while picturing Hirohiko crying manly sensitive tears through its 9 1/2 minutes. I could break it down painstakingly but if you care it'd be obvious, and if it's not obvious you won't care. So. XD;;
* The damage:
Steel Ball Run 13-19 (20 seems to have sold out of stock = =)
Gente 1
Finder no Shinjitsu (omedetou!! I will not have to buy this ever again XDD)
Romance of an Ancient Dreaming City (Hoshino Lily aesthetic het from Fx, which is a reliable imprint for ruining my life, so)
This, which
Stuff to buy next round so as not to get dinged badly for customs duties (yeah right like I can avoid it):
SBR 20-21 which'll be out too no doubt
Aoi Hana 3-5 (...there're like ten schoolgirl yuri series in the You Might Also Enjoys now)
Gente 2-3 plus that basso book that came out on EDGE urghhh Natsume is overly prolific, maybe I should just start watching the animu instead
Petshop of Horrors whatever up to 7 (if I still feel like it which I may not)
Crimson Spell 3 (...)
Ze? Sheesh I can't even remember what I used to read
Stuff to read/get from the bookstore in English/French or heck, why not, in scanlation:
Bleach I don't even remember (I have actually been reading this regularly surprise!!, in French tankoubon i.e. about 8 volumes behind)
Nana 19+
Where is TRC even up to now
I think I will sell off some of my older books, no way is all this coming with me when I move. = =+
no subject
Date: 2010-03-22 12:13 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2010-03-22 12:32 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2010-03-22 03:45 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2010-03-22 05:18 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2010-03-22 07:36 pm (UTC)Lady Gaga is always doing this stuff about being sexually objectified so hard that you go crazy and turn into a murderous automaton, so a women's-prison vid where the inmates strip-dance on the prison bars is a logical next step, I think. It's mashed up with a Virgin Mobile ad and a girls' revenge fantasy (with Kill Bill/Helen Housewife/Harold and Maude imagery!), which kind of confuses the issue.
The action-movie production looks like some of the higher-budget hip hop videos that have been coming out recently, like this one (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YkwQbuAGLj4). If she's working with Akon and Beyonce, maybe that makes sense.
Also, while I'm putting down my thoughts, I want to put down that Beyonce is the better actress, by far. :p I always thought Lady Gaga was good-looking, and and didn't need the masks, but maybe the masks are a way to keep from having to act - in a subtle way - in public. Or maybe not being a good actress is an act? The "weird, damaged and vulnerable" act?
Stefani Germanotta and Amy Winehouse don't look anything alike, especially after all the drugs Amy's taken, but maybe there is only enough space in the public consciousness for one "crazy brunette bitch who wears lots of makeup and weird clothes".
no subject
Date: 2010-03-22 08:58 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2010-03-22 09:03 pm (UTC)... I was wondering what those closeups were about, I thought the idea was that while everyone was distracted by the catfight she was transforming herself into someone else (someone who wears
relativelylittle makeup andrelativelynormal clothes!) so she could sneak out, but then, no.no subject
Date: 2010-03-23 02:25 pm (UTC)I think the bad acting is intentional. XDD I saw Dreamgirls, Beyoncé is a way better actress than that!
You can tell them apart by the tattoos. XD In seriousness, though, they have very similar physiques (petite and short-legged) and sort of oval faces. If they had similar makeup and hair it would be confusing.
no subject
Date: 2010-03-22 04:16 pm (UTC)Gaga/Beyoncé's "Telephone" SOBBING XDDD
no subject
Date: 2010-03-23 01:50 pm (UTC)Weird poses, women's prison, nonsense repeating syllables, stars-and-stripes hotpants... SO YEAH.
no subject
Date: 2010-03-22 06:31 pm (UTC)Telephone is an ok song, a better video; Videophone was just kind of depressing to me, maybe because none of the clothing worked for me. (OK, Lady Gaga's normal clothes don't exactly work for me, but they're not screaming "I'M TRYING TO BE LADY GAGA, OR MY ALTERNATE PERSONA WHO TRIES TO BE LADY GAGA" only, you know, Beyonce. How nice that Lady Gaga finds a way to keep her own clothes without even, presumably, hiding tonnes of cash in her boobs! I wonder if Araki-sensei would have appreciated the Videophone clothes/video; were any of his favorite movies by Tarantino?)
Ah christ, amazon.jp. Maybe I do want $10 boxen to put each individual series in! And maybe I need that Araki at the Louvre thing too, it's not like I managed to strategically be in France for the exhibition. T.T
no subject
Date: 2010-03-23 01:55 pm (UTC)I didn't particularly like "Videophone" the song either, and this one is so iconable. XD GAGA SAYS LET'S MAKE A SANDWICH
no subject
Date: 2010-03-23 03:20 pm (UTC)Oh yeah, is it particularly weird that Gallimard is publishing it? I basically know nothing about the publishing house.