petronia: (nana)
[personal profile] petronia
Brain outdid itself this morning clearing out junk from the preceding week. Dream scenario involved the following, in no particular order:

* small, venerable, broken-down British university
* policemen pursuing a cat burglar
* dragons
* boys I have not seen for years
* girls I have never met
* acquaintances currently involved in RL drama (not mine)
* the twee paraphernalia of books and tweed and chalk
* dilapidated student council rooms
* David Bowie
* JoJo outfits
* David Bowie, student council president, in what could have been a JoJo outfit but on further rumination was probably just Aladdin Sane or something
* an Anne Rice novel featuring the crack pairing of vampire!Diablo x Vanilla, which we in the student council had all read approvingly
* age angst

The plot involved me sneaking into the school every few years, each time passing myself off as a freshman (I couldn't stay in England but I badly wanted to attend this school, for self-evident reasons). I overslept by half an hour and woke greatly refreshed. Now I just wish there were some way of selectively targetting the brain cells that came up with the Diablo x Vanilla thing. WHY GOD WHY. [1]


[1] Rhetorical question; unfortunately I always know exactly why I dream the things I dream. Last night on IRC Giorno was cast as the protagonist of the JoJo dating sim, upon which the subconscious decided Part 3 stage would be one of those AUs the Japanese fanartists love drawing in which GioGio grows up as the botchama of the Brando household, pampered by papa, D'Arby the butler and Vanilla, who is forced to make him puddings. And if a Diablo x Kira event can be managed...

Eh, since I have exactly five minutes (work woes detailed in post to follow if feasible) I may as well post the JoJo music I uploaded over the past couple of days?

EDIT -- It's been a month, so I took the mp3s down. Thanks for listening!

Cars - Just What I Needed
Kenny Loggins - Danger Zone
XD
Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers - You Don't Know How It Feels
Wham! - I'm Your Man

Chaka Khan - Ain't Nobody
: just because I like it so much.
Enya - Only Time: I burnt the entire Enya oeuvre off my hard drive two weeks ago and kept this song, since it's the only one I like. :P
Mariah Carey - Without You: I had to sing this in high school, there's a nostalgia value.
Pet Shop Boys - Violence (Hacienda Version)
Steely Dan - Do It Again
: this is one of my favorite songs of all time. No, seriously, it is.
Vanilla Ice - Ice Ice Baby: other bootlegs of "Another One Bites The Dust" below.

Queen - Another One Bites The Dust (Long Dusted B-boy Version)
Queen and Wyclef Jean feat. Pras - Another One Bites The Dust
U2 - Tryin' To Throw Your Arms Around The World
(off Achtung Baby - as opposed to, yanno, "One" or "Mysterious Ways" XD)

Black Sabbath - War Pigs: I don't know why I have this, but I'm not sorry.
The Clash - The Guns of Brixton (alternately, have the Nouvelle Vague cover which is actually good in a non-IRONIC LOLZ way)
Curtis Mayfield - Superfly
Metallica - No Leaf Clover (live)
: what on earth is happening here? XD Maybe I don't listen to enough Metallica.
Notorious B.I.G. feat. Method Man - The What: off Ready To Die (as opposed to Life After Death - haha sensei that was witty). ...Why don't I have "Mo Money Mo Problems"? I was sure I had "Mo Money Mo Problems".
Spice Girls - Wannabe: I had to. There's something deeply satisfactory about the idea of "Wannabe" being employed as a shounen manga attack; snakes on a plane level of satisfactory. Spice Girl. Vs. Biggie. ON A PLANE. Poptimism could not do better.
Talking Heads - Psycho Killer: appropriate?

Goo Goo Dolls - What A Scene
Prince - Kiss (Omid db Remix)
: return of the remix. On top of which there's this, one of the most baffling assemblies in pop: The Art of Noise and Tom Jones - Kiss
Genesis - Follow You Follow Me

In other news, I have just bit the bullet and paypaled a hundred bucks for a weekend pass to MUTEK. Spare time in the four weeks between now and then will be spent, if not on Flash homework, then on physical endurance training. This is no longer a question of weight or anything like that, it is a question of survival.

Also I need a pair of decent shoes stat.

EDIT -- Oh and if anyone in Montreal would like to come with me to the Tiga show Saturday night at the SAT, just say the word.

Date: 2006-05-04 08:59 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jantalaimon.livejournal.com
define "decent" shoes. :)

Date: 2006-05-04 09:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] petronia.livejournal.com
Up to 6-7 hours straight of dancing without destroying my ankles or numbing my toes for months, but not actually trainers. XD

I was thinking those vaguely sneaker-like flat slippers by Diesel or something, dunno if that sort works.

Date: 2006-05-04 09:27 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] astrael-nyx.livejournal.com
So much music, so much nostalgia.

Date: 2006-05-04 09:43 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jokersama.livejournal.com
I'm lame and wear my Doc loafers when I have to go to loooong concerts; they're comfortable enough and protect me from all the people stepping on my feet. But you'll probably want something cooler-looking? XD;

Also, you must come back tonight! You don't want to have normal dreams, do you?

Date: 2006-05-04 10:36 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] nemissa.livejournal.com
upon which the subconscious decided Part 3 stage would be one of those AUs the Japanese fanartists love drawing in which GioGio grows up as the botchama of the Brando household, pampered by papa, D'Arby the butler and Vanilla, who is forced to make him puddings.

As usual, Japanese fanartists are one step ahead of us. (http://inspire.easter.ne.jp/jg/giortan/giordad.html)

(the last one is my favorite orz)

Date: 2006-05-05 12:56 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] worldserpent.livejournal.com
You have exciting dreams. I never remember mine, or they're just disturbing; two days ago I dreamed that I was dying of an illness, but the odd thing is that no matter how disturbing the dream, I never feel distressed about it when I wake up.

Date: 2006-05-05 04:46 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] angrybabble.livejournal.com
you shouldn't lock this entry? XD when we had our posts up I thought it'd be good to share with the comm! XD; what do you think~?

Date: 2006-05-05 05:57 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] petronia.livejournal.com
Okay, I unlocked it! I just post locked during the day as a matter of course. XD

Date: 2006-05-06 12:41 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] angrybabble.livejournal.com
yay! :D can I post to the comm? or would you rather do it? ?_?

Date: 2006-05-06 02:15 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] petronia.livejournal.com
Go ahead, best to make one post. XD

Date: 2006-05-05 08:39 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tokyofish.livejournal.com
Came by way of Ka to snag some JoJo music. ^^;;; Thanks!

Date: 2006-05-06 05:48 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jurhael.livejournal.com
Took the Pet Shop Boys song.

December 2020

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829 3031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 08:22 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios