No more avoiding spoilers
Jul. 3rd, 2011 02:45 amI have finally managed to finish watching the last two episodes of Doctor Who I had left! Guys, I am SO CONFUSED. First of all, yes I did stop for weeks in the middle of a two-parter. For some reason the accents in these eps completely defeated me: I could barely understand what ppl were saying, and everyone seemed to be having hysterical personality flip-flops to boot. I don't think the plot itself was off but I couldn't hold the pacing in my head. It felt like watching a movie while unable to parse film semiotics; no proper build, just "stuff happens, stuff happens, stuff happens". E07, which is much less linear on paper, suffered from this a lot less. But the ending was pretty o_O; Everyone was required to commit Acting, though, even characters one'd never met before, so I kind of felt like the day was carried on conviction.
( Spoiler cut for S06E07 )
( Spoiler cut for S06E07 )