Jun. 28th, 2007

petronia: (giogio)
I have three issues of Italian JoJo, that I bought second-hand from the comics/anime convention within the Turin book fair (...so I attended a con while I was there, WHAT OF IT). Nowadays I think Italy does tankoubon like everyone else but back when JoJo was being serialized - and according to the inside cover the Italian edition started in 1994 - it came out in "issues", where one issue is 6-8 chapters or thereabouts. So the end of part 5 (volume 63) was issue #94. By sheer coincidence the publication date corresponded exactly with the manga's internal timeframe: August 2001. XD Then they detoured for purposes of Araki completism, so Baoh was #95-#97, Gorgeous Irene was #98, Magical B.T. was #99, then #100 was the start of Stone Ocean. Part 4 and previous are flipped left to right, part 5 and onward are right to left. They're basically thinner tankoubon so I find it outrageous that manga serialized this way was collected into "proper" tanks afterward, but 'tis well known TRUFAX that otaku nerds will pay for anything.

It wasn't until last week that I realized this sort of farks up the way I described Pink Dark Boy in my fic? Uh. This level of authenticity is not required amirite.

Looks like this: )

Where the bottom three shelves are entirely JoJo. The issues I have are #52 (last bit of Josuke + Jotaro vs. rat, Reimi's introduction), #84 (all of Clash/Talking Heads - I got it for the map of Venice ahaha), and #94 (Gold Experience Requiem, Rolling Stone side story, the character profiles). I should probably make some scans or something but for the moment I'm too lazy. XD; Part 5 comes off like... reading Banana Fish in English. Where you sit and think, "Funny this was originally in Japanese when it's all about the US of A," and it's kind of hard to imagine except not.

I also bought volume 5 of Ouran High School Host Club, solely because I wanted to learn to say "reverse harem" in Italian.
petronia: (byakuya)
1) Real life conflict, not mine. Involvement in other people's RL drama being USELESS as it always is of course.

2) Piknic over the weekend - after I got off work on Saturday I dragged Tania there (actually arrived in time for the end of the Le Tigre set I'd been streaming), then went back on Sunday for Fred Everything and Josh Wink. Some techno DJs bring the fanboy sausage-fest contigent to the front for some reason, I can never predict. XD; This isn't a problem with house... Beautiful weather, which contributes as much to the vibe as the music itself. I've never mentioned how great the Piknic hot dogs are either.

I thought about this convo with Danica on Saturday, during DJ Frigid's set - Frigid being the EBM/80s alternate(?) Saturdays resident at Saphir back when, unless memory fails - because it was the sort of set that I think Justice would sound good in: like, sandwiched between "Alala", "I Love Rock 'n' Roll", "Silent Shout" and twenty minutes of psy-trance, feeeedelity and beatmatching of no issue. XD And it's not a new thing! )

3) Finished reading The Fountainhead. As sororial unit pointed out later the last 200 pages of this are kind of like "...Wait, now you're bringing the slash?" [livejournal.com profile] beeblebabe had a (rather grumpy) article on del.icio.us re: how the subtext in movies like 300 and Point Break isn't so much homoerotic as narcissistic - these men joined in brotherhood because they recognize their heroic, masculine qualities mirrored in each other. This is probably more the case in Ayn Rand than anywhere else I can think of, but her women are also part of the equation which muddles it somewhat but pleases me. XD Anyhow the slasher take is more nuanced than the topic in regular media IMO, because there's a recognition that it's not really "canon gay" but the discourse isn't tongue-in-cheek dismissive either. If that makes sense.

No time or gumption to go into detail regarding the book but I developed a real fondness for it. I have a theory that Prince of Tennis fic should be written in this mode with Tezuka as the hero but putting that into practice is another ballgame altogether. XD

4) Discovered that the "Teil Drei" Kompakt rolling thread on ILM is called that because uhhhh there used to be a first one and a second one. Should have gotten that login and figured out the search function three years ago, maybe. LAME.

5) Commented on other people's posts. No really!

6) Vetted four more SSBB submissions. I'll post to the comm in a moment but you all realize you have two weeks left right. XD If in doubt, aim to get the girls' side story in - less signups there than for the boys' side.

December 2020

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829 3031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 03:04 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios