Dec. 28th, 2004

petronia: (XD)
Christmas loot to date = ZERO

...That's right, mofos, no gifts whatsoever. You'd have to be Jewish to beat that, and even then. XD
petronia: (sea and sky)
(Ced, I just realised I've had your audio cord lying on my desk for weeks. ^^; Please. Remind me of these things, you know that's what it takes... Are you coming to Tania's on Thursday?)

I only realised John Peel was an actual person a couple of months before he died; I'd always thought the name was... was one of those institutional anthropomorphizations. Id est that that particularly venerable BBC music programme was called "John Peel" like the Federal National Mortgage Association is called "Fannie Mae", which about says it all really. ^^; Thus I can't say I was really saddened about his death per se, not in the way one is when a familiar radio personality dies (it's happened to me). But when I went to the Lali Puna concert they dedicated a song to John Peel; a new song. "We premiered this on a Peel Session that was recorded only a couple of weeks ago," they said, and all of a sudden the thought came to me: no more Peel Sessions, ever again. Of anyone.

...Though all of that is really just a lead-in to the following: is it just me, or is the Phantom of the Opera Theme actually the bassline to the Undertones' "Teenage Kicks"? Or am I just hearing it everywhere now?

***

Ack, no need to feel sorry for me re the lack of Christmas booty! ^^; I know I'll be getting a couple of gifts this week; I have gifts to give as well. I just thought it would be funny, because the flist is full of people enumerating the shiny schtuff they received, but... I guess it's not. XD;;

***

In other news that's not very funny, UNICEF Canada's emergency donation form is here. (Which emergency, it asks you. Indian Ocean? Beslan? Sudan? Haiti? Some days it's hard to justify that $40 sushi dinner, and not because of its effect on one's personal budget.) In case some people on the flist haven't seen yet.

***

Meanwhile, I continue to live in an anime series )
petronia: (fashion)
Haven't heard this song for ages. As with other activities, one gets into habits of listening; it's worth it to put it all on shuffle every once in a while. ...Perhaps I should make a Love Mix as well? Mine would be didactic of course: modes of love, discourse, subtle harmonics of emotion easier to convey in Asian or Romance languages than stolid meat-and-potatos English. XD There's no good English word for "innamoramento" any more than there's a good English word for Mirage of Blaze's 執愛.

Ran the Naoe x Kagetora FST up to about an hour in length. Month and a half yet to fill the disc and sequence/re-sequence, so am hardly worried. Like the Nana FST it sort of peters out due to me running out of canon to work from - even my fuzzy-spoiler knowledge of the series fades to static after a certain point - but really a 40-volume series deserves a double album, doesn't it, even if one is consciously restricting oneself to the 40% of said 40 volumes that's comprised of twisty internal monologues/overthinking. I find the sheer overall claustrophobia of the thing a difficult listen, despite the fact that I made it and it has a lot of my favorite songs on (the ones that are too scary to put on normal mixes, which maybe says something about me. However no Shirley Manson content shokka!). Look forward to inflicting it on other squishy human beings, though. XD

EDIT -- Winamp can't take this FST either; it refuses to play it more than twice in a row. XD;;;

Utter spam

Dec. 28th, 2004 08:37 pm
petronia: (damned fangirls)
Mirage of Blaze fic that should never be written... maybe )

December 2020

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829 3031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 11:59 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios