Dec. 6th, 2003

petronia: (yeah what?)
After a week of being convinced that I'd be writing something highly spare and enigmatic from Fuji's POV, downed a half bottle of chilled perlant strong cider and proceeded to ramble for 350 words... from Tezuka's POV. Oh well. Best laid plans of mice and fanficcers, and so forth. XD Will try to eke out another 350 tomorrow, going the other way, and that will serve as the shortfic. I can see the form of the thing and am vaguely dissatisfied with it, because not enough happens and... and it's not pretentious enough. For lack of a better word. Mind you I don't think of TeniPuri as a deep or pretentious series - I'm not even sure I take it seriously as such - but since when has that ever stopped me?

In other news, went for soba / tempura / the largest wakame salad in the world at Wakamono yesterday with T, because it's really the only passable Japanese noodle place in town and noodles are integral to my school of Method Ficcing. (Yes, I know it's not the same Saitou Hajime as I have in tLoN. He's still much with the soba. And Hikaru must have his ramen, and so forth.) The other upside of Wakamono being that T's boifurendo works the sushi counter there and would send over things like strawberry/tempura shrimp maki with sweet cream dipping sauce, which is in no wise kosher Japanese food but rates an honorary mention for Foodgasm Of The Year at the very least. Showed my last two stories to T, who read and passed them as presentable. More precisely, she grosso modo understood the PMK one, and for the second said, "Sumire should've just thrown up on Renji when he had the chance." Which is all the effect I was hoping to achieve, really. *g*

In similarly other but less optimistic news, it's becoming obvious that after I've annoyed half my flist thoroughly by making you send me addies that I'm not going to be able to get a mass mailing out by Christmas. The alpha of my feeble excuse is "work", and the omega is "deadline". T_T Thus I'm pushing my personal project plan back by a month or two, to what is arbitrarily and provisorily determined as Chinese New Year. Giftfic however will be written and posted on the usual loosely Advent-ish schedule. Stay tuned.

...Is the Pop Art PSB best-of out already or what? Moooouuuu.

EDIT -- 'Kay, scratch the not pretentious enough part, I just referenced Choderlos de Laclos. Still a bit too tell-not-show for my taste, though, and the narrative voice is wonked all to hell. (Generic second person?)
petronia: (electricity)
Yami to Boushi to Hon no Tabibito. Okay, now I get it. It's Italo Calvino's "On A Winter's Night A Traveler" - the hentai edition!

...Ain't nuffin' wrong with that. XD Bring on the incestuous lesbian schoolgirl pretentious meta narrative strategy, is all I'm saying. Seriously, it's clever. And no, it's not all that ecchi, but it does make one wonder if the game is any good. Which I suppose is part of the purpose.

I really want the OP to this, dammit. My love for Avex cannot be divorced from my hatred, and no doubt our relationship is doomed to a tragic finale.

EDIT -- Found a TV rip of it, which suggests that (say it with me) the soundtrack isn't due to be released until next month. This never used to happen; it's a downside to watching anime less than a week after it's been shown on Japanese TV. ...Now that I'm thinking about it, is it just me or aren't anime themes as great as they used to be? Or as pervasive in the fandom at large, somehow? I mean, there're still catchy songs, and good - excellent - soundtracks. But it seems a long time since there's been, y'know, a 'Heart of Sword' or a 'Rinbu Revolution'. A 'Cruel Angel Thesis' or 'Voices' or 'Just Communication', something everyone can hum, practically... Mere result of the fact that there's more series available for the watching, and less people following each? All I can say from my personal experience is that I haven't come across an opening/closing theme in a long time that has the ability to conjure up its series in its totality - all the emotions, the sense of adventure if you will - just to listen to. Catchy, yes, but nothing seminal like that.

EDIT2 -- GIP. XD Because if Ban can have an 80's pop song icon, then Ginji can too.

December 2020

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829 3031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 09:39 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios