Jul. 18th, 2005

petronia: (Default)
Okay. I'm back. =_= )

The story after Gunjou is Shichigatsu umare no Sirius, which is totally about how Naoe takes Takaya out on a date on his birthday (7/23, for the record, that's in less than a week). It's the second time I was walking down the street reading Mirage under the same stars as the characters - sorry am dorky okay. Read Sabaku Junkyou too. Same idea, heat wave these past few days in the concrete jungle of Montreal, so I got really dehydrated and ended up ordering the next few books with express shipping.

In the meantime I have to read the new Harry Potter. Believe me I'm bitter about not being allowed to do this on my own time, but if I don't read it now now now the race'll be on to see whether my sister kills me first for not reading or I get inadvertently spoilered by my flist (because in 24 hours or so people will stop caring about spoiler cuts when making jokes - or lj icons). And no, JKR doesn't write well enough that being spoilered won't half ruin the thing. :P

Aiya

Jul. 18th, 2005 09:55 pm
petronia: (Default)
The tally of uncut HBP spoilers posted by flisters who really should know better currently rests at three. ^^; Guys, I have the book in my purse and will probably be done with it by tonight, so really the onus is on me to flee Livejournal for the day, but just. For future reference and the record:
  • "I'm disappointed that there's no [foo]!" is a spoiler.
  • "Haven't read the book but haven't been spoilered either, except for the bit about [foo]." is also a spoiler.
  • "Insert clever joke about [foo] involving references to other series from which the reader can draw inferences" is a spoiler too.
  • Oh, and while I'm on it, [livejournal.com profile] joliefolie, "You said JKR said [foo] in an interview and that's not what she did! You gave me incorrect information!" is technically a spoiler as well, although not a serious one. More to the point, am I my brother's Rowling's keeper?

More instances will be added to the list no doubt. Yeah, I know I said the spoiler grace period in practice was 24 hours and that's over.

I am on the first page of chapter 7. )

...Will post more as I read, I guess.
petronia: (fashion)
After carefully considering not to mention pawing my mp3 player options, I've decided to spring for a Creative Zen Micro 5GB. The problem is that I want an orange one, with my second choice of colour being lime green - and this apparently makes me UNIQUE IN NORTH AMERICA, because not only did none of the four physical stores I visited today have those colours in stock, but none of the online stores I'm looking at do either, including the actual Creative Labs site. The salespeople I talked to told me they can't order a specific colour for me, because they get the things like surprises-in-a-box from the manufacturer (which seems outrageous to me mais passons). So I can either a) pick from the colours on offer, i.e. go for my third choice which is silver, or b) back-order an orange one from Creative Labs who are bound to send me one eventually even if they have to make another batch. The base price is more or less the same either way, but if I order it I have to pay 29$US shipping plus whatever duties and taxes Canadian Customs decides in its infinite wisdom to milk me for. However Creative will throw in a pair of 40$US headphones for free, which brick stores in Montreal will not.

What to do? YR OPINION IS REQUESTED PLS.

...So I didn't come home with an mp3 player, but I did buy a cute skirt. It's triangular, calf-length, green polkadots on green, ties with a wide sash and has a petticoat. It was also 80% off.

December 2020

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829 3031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:02 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios