Feb. 6th, 2003

petronia: (music)
Birthday this year falls on a Monday, i.e. non-family shindigs scheduled weekend immediately preceding - and it turns out Ladytron will be at Club Soda that Saturday. So, assuming they're not sold out tomorrow, that can be my birthday present to myself. Preciousss, yesss.

I suspect I'm setting myself up for a moment of surreal conceptual disjunction - my lameness knows no bounds, I'm *that* unused to seeing bands/writers/actors/anime directors/whatever in the flesh, live concerts are something I reserve in my mind for classical music - but better to work out one's conceptual blips before a consciously stylised synthpop outfit anyhow. There's symmetry in it. Ladytron is maybe the only group I like where the vector of discovery didn't involve either radio or MP3; everything I have of theirs was literally handed to me in a club.
petronia: (Default)
Jesus H. Christ, people. Get over yourselves.

Let's extend this beyond video games. Why the hell do people who write OOC, PWPs, et al, possibly without having seen the series or played the game all the way through - why the hell does it bother you so much? No, really, comment on this and tell me. Last I checked, no one's twisting your arm to force you to do it their way. No one's even forcing you to *read* their fics. So what the hell? Why are you threatened by this? Why does it make you so bloody angry?

You are not what Neil Gaiman called the Enforcement Arm of Fanfiction, the other day. (And *he* said it with the text equivalent of a nervous laugh, and a big Joke caption to avoid flames, which tells you something right there.) The lightweight fangirls will not give you a bad name in the eyes of society at large, trust me, because it's mothereffing fanfiction. It never had a good name to begin with. It's not a righteous war, it's something ya do for laughs.

Isn't it?

Y'all need to chill, j0. Chill.

P.S.: Does modifying an existing entry now count as making a new entry?
petronia: (Default)
There was something *really* ranty here for about 5 seconds. Gone now, though.

People will rant - people I like and have been acquainted with / read for ages, in case you think my brain was eaten by aliens today - and I'm not bugged by that so much as I'm bugged by... how to put it? No one ever rants back. ^^; No one ever says, hey, so what if I haven't beaten the final boss or watched the subbed tape. That doesn't necessarily make me stupid. I'm enjoying it too, just not the same way as you are.

Or if they say it, the articulate and discerning people who write the first kind of rant don't take them seriously. They *do* tend to be fluffy l33t-using fangirls, true, so it doesn't always come across as the apogee of intellectual thought.

I'm bothered at a very deep non-fandom level when I'm involved in a debate that's overly one-sided.

(Has to do - this is not an overly-dramatic metaphor for the current question, merely a note on my individual psychological makeup - with being born in a Communist country.)

So, she says with heavy irony, I appointed myself Voltaire for the day. And may continue to do so at intervals in the future, if only to ensure the other POV gets heard.

December 2020

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829 3031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 07:55 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios